Who am I?

The question is, who do we think we are? Do we get to determine how someone else presents, identifies, etc. We are told no, but then society shouts the opposite. YES!!! Everyone is made to live their life the exact way I want them to. They must present the way and do the thing. Please do the thing because if you don’t it makes me uncomfortable. How dare you do the thing that isn’t what I told you to do?

It makes me doubt myself when I am trying to understand who the hell I am supposed to be when you tell me that this is how I look so I must be this. Why would I want to fit your societal norms when I have never felt normal? Why wouldn’t I want to celebrate who I am and being able to become who I am?

Identities change throughout our lives. Why should we stick ourselves in boxes? I enjoy labels in discussion because it allows us to try and present ourselves to others. However, society teaches us some labels are more important than others. Why is this? Do we hate ourselves this much? Are we really that desperate to make everyone the same? If there is someone you see as threatening to your identity then you need to look at yourself, not blame them.

I’m not changing who I am. I have always been me, but I am changing who the world sees.

Leave a Reply

