Abnormal Thoughts

Today in class we were talking about the different forms of depression. He brought up suicide and I was thinking about the phrase This makes me want to die. I say it when something terrible happens. My body is really sensitive to lights, sounds, etc. and certain things make me want to claw my face off. I say this phrase and I get chastised to not say it anymore. 

Okay?

People have made this phrase such a joke that I cannot honestly say this phrase without having at least one person who thinks they know me or some stranger who wants to look like the best person jump down my throat and tell me that it shouldn’t be a joke and I need to stop. 

Why do we do that? 

We hush people. We tell people what we think they should be saying, especially if we don’t know them. 

Why is mental health such a taboo topic? Why is there such an issue to talk about what is wrong? We act as though there is no issue, but it is more likely in college that someone will miss class/ a meeting/ homework etc. due to a mental illness than being physically ill. Anytime I have been sick I will go to class, but I have missed months of class because I can’t get out of bed. I am paying thousands of dollars to be miserable. 

I wish that I could scream I. AM. NOT. OKAY. and someone would hear me. If you hear me then I hear you. Trust me, I understand that there are issues you are going through and I am here for you. 

This is the first post I have made in a year and that is because I feel like there is no point. No point to me trying, no point to caring, but I think it is the lack of words that has caused me to close myself off from the world. I have missed expressing my feelings. I have missed doing the word thing. 

Leave a Reply

